Design Thoughts

Customer Journey Mapping

Have you ever wondered why a large percent of people despise going to the supermarket? Did you know that supermarkets draw out your path and control the way you navigate their stores? However, it is a good, studied, and analyzed customer journey map that makes or breaks your experience.

So, what is a Journey Map? A Journey map is a research-based visualization tool that shows the overall experience a customer has from the beginning of the first interaction with your organization, until the very last interaction with it over a certain time and across all the different channels. Customer journey mapping allows organizations to breakdown the customer’s experience to get a better understanding of their expectations through each step, and identify weak areas that need to be improved or completely re-designed.

Journey mapping allows companies, organizations, and service providers to learn more about their target audience by looking at a detailed timeline of interactions that identify the most important tasks and sub-tasks a user encounters, and how they think and feel in every step.

Not only can you identify weak problem areas in a customers’s journey, but you can also highlight points of strength in your service that the customers feels satisfied using, sustain its performance, and find new ways of enhancing it to create an even better experience for the user.

Creating a Journey Map

In order to create an ideal customer journey map, there are a few steps in the process you need to consider before starting:

  1. The first would be identifying your map’s Business Goal ; clearly stating who your customer is and which experience or service is your map going to address.
  2. The following step is to Conduct Research.  To better understand your customer’s motives, interests, and actions, you have to get analytical data and evidence from their journey such as: surveys, interviews, and field research. These will help you understand your customer’s experience across multiple touch-points.
  3. Next, we have to assess those Touch-points  (i.e. browse supermarket aisles, pay at cashier) as well as the different interaction Channels  (i.e. online, offline) to identify the weak areas that affect the customer’s overall experience. You can also discover new channels or touch-points to include with your research for design opportunities.
  4. Now that you have gathered all the required data from your customer’s journey, the next step would be identifying your customer’s motives and incentives. What are they thinking, feeling, seeing, hearing, and doing at each step of the experience? In this step, you have to identify the “pains & gains” of the user interacting with your service.
  5. Following that, you will need to revise and refine your journey map findings and create the best visualization version of it including any artifacts found, quotes said, images captured and other relevant pieces of evidence that help support the story of the customer’s journey.
  6. Lastly, you have to share your customer journey map with all relevant stakeholders. They need to be able to visually see the whole journey experience and understand where the service’s weak links are; areas of improvement, and points of strength to be able to design and deliver the best possible customer experience.

What does a customer journey map actually look like?

This is it. Take a few minutes to read each step, and try to understand how each of the elements in this research-based tool work together.

Stages

First at the very top you have the Stages of the customers’s journey: before, during, and after they have interacted with your service.

Phases

Next, you have to identify the key phases that your customer goes through at each stage of their journey. This section should be at high-level with very little details, but key phases. The rest of the details will be uncovered next.

Example:  Before—Arriving to the supermarket; entering the supermarket.

Steps  

At this stage of journey mapping we can add more details to the key phases with that will help us understand the steps that the customer is taking during their journey.

Example: Before— looking for a parking spot; finding signs to the elevator; finding the supermarket floor number/button; reaching the floor, and entering the supermarket.

Touch-points

 We can now go into furhter details by understanding what helps the customer come to their decision, and what are the elements or touch-points of interaction between your business and your customer. Touch-points are interfaces (physical and non-physical) through which your customer interacts with your organization. These interactions may be as simple as finding the elevator button to go to and from the parking lot to the supermarket, or interacting with another human-being.

Example: During—finding shopping carts; looking for labelled aisles, holding/browsing products; finding product prices.

Experience Level

This is where we map the customer’s emotions. It is essential to capture these emotions so that you may sustain them if they are positive or fix them if they are negative.

Challenges

After identifying the steps, touch-points, and the experience level, we then detail the challenges that the customer faces in his journey and capture information such as where do they occur; who are they interacting with, and what are they trying to accomplish within this step. These challenges will help us later in redesigning new experiences that enhances the customer’s experience.

Potential Ideas/Opportunities

These are areas which highlight the need for improvement and innovation in the customer’s journey. Some of these opportunities may be minor and seem simple, but results in great impact to the customer’s overall experience. These opportunities may be systematic, operational, visual, or even physical. 

So that was our brief guide to customer journey mapping. The success of your service is highly dependent on the success of your customer journey. Your journey map needs to measure how well and effectively it helps your business/organization to identify pain points, as well as opportunities for improvement as it follows the steps in the customer’s path from start to finish.

Futhermore, a service is delivered when diffferent stakeholders and departments come together. A visual and detailed customer journey map helps bring in all of these stakeholder together and unites them in seeing the big picture of their customer; a unity which many organizations lack despite its importance. 

 

Design Studio

We are constantly trying to make the dent, make the positive difference.
Innovation Labs
PRODUCT INNOVATION
UX DESIGN
SERVICE DESIGN
Research &Insights
UX Assessment
HUED Creative Studio

مدونات حول التصميم

تخطيط رحلة العميل

هل فكرت يومًا في سبب كُره نسبة كبيرة من الأشخاص الذهاب إلى السوبر ماركت؟ هل تعلم أن هذه المتاجر ترسم طريقك وتتحكم في طريقة تنقلك فيها؟ يُعد مخطط رحلة العميل المدروس والمُعدّ بعناية الأداة التي تجعل من تجربتك أفضل أو الأسوأ من نوعها. 

ما المقصود بمخطط رحلة العميل؟ يعتبر مخطط رحلة العميل أداة للمعاينة البصرية التي تستند على البحث وتوّضح تجربة العميل منذ بداية تفاعله مع مؤسستك حتى آخر تفاعل له خلال وقت معيّن ضمن مراحل مختلفة. وتتيح عملية تخطيط رحلة العميل للمؤسسات تحليل تجربة العميل لفهم توقعاته في كل خطوة، وتحديد جوانب الضعف بهدف تحسينها أو إعادة تصميمها بالكامل. 

كما يوّفر مخطط رحلة العميل للشركات والمؤسسات ومقدمي الخدمة مزيد من المعلومات عن العملاء المستهدفين من خلال جدول زمني مفصّل لتفاعلهم الذي تحدد أهم المهام الرئيسية والفرعية التي يواجها المستخدم وطريقة تفكيره وشعوره في كل خطوة أثناء رحلته.

بالإضافة إلى تحديد جوانب الضعف في رحلة العميل يمكنك أيضًا تسليط الضوء على نقاط القوة في الخدمة التي تقدمها التي نالت رضا العميل والحفاظ على مستواها وإيجاد طرق جديدة لتطويرها لضمان تجربة رائعة للمستخدم.

إنشاء مخطط رحلة العميل

فيما يلي بعض الخطوات التي تؤخذ بعين الاعتبار قبل البدء في عملية إنشاء مخطط مثالي لرحلة العميل:

  1.  تحديد الهدف الرئيسي من المخطط. حدّد بوضوح من هم عملائك والخدمة أو التجربة المستهدفة.

  2. إجراء البحث. احصل على بيانات تحليلية وأدِلّة من رحلة العميل مثل الدراسات الاستقصائية والمقابلات والبحوث الميدانية لتحقيق فهم أكثر لدوافع العميل واهتماماته وأفعاله، بالتالي تفهم تجربة عميلك خلال نقاط التواصل المتعددة مع العملاء.

  3.  الوصول إلى نقاط التواصل مع العملاء (أي اطَّلِع على أقسام السوبر ماركت، وادفع لدى أمين الصندوق) ونقاط التفاعل المختلفة شخصيًا أو عبر الإنترنت، وذلك لتحديد جوانب الضعف التي تؤثر على تجربة العميل. كما يمكنك اكتشاف طرق أو نقاط تواصل جديدة لتضمينها في بحثك عن فرص التصميم.

  4. تحديد دوافع وحوافز العميل بعد الانتهاء من جمع البيانات المتعلقة برحلة العميل. ما الذي يفكر به العميل؟ كيف يشعر ويرى ويسمع وماذا يفعل في كل خطوة خلال تجربته؟ عليك تحديد كل تفاعل جيّد أو سيء للعميل مع الخدمة التي تقدمها في هذه الخطوة.

  5. مراجعة وتحسين نتائج مخطط رحلة العميل وإنشاء أفضل نسخة بصرية تتضمن الأدوات والاقتباسات والصور الملتقطة وغيرها من الأدلّة ذات الصلة التي تساعد في دعم رحلة العميل.
  6. مشاركة مخطط رحلة العميل مع أصحاب المصلحة ذوي الصلة. يحتاج أصحاب المصلحة إلى رؤية تجربة الرحلة كاملة بصريًا وفهم نقاط الضعف والقوة ومجالات التحسين؛ وذلك ليتمكنّوا من تصميم وتقديم أفضل تجربة ممكنة للعميل.

كيف يبدو مخطط رحلة العميل فعليًّا؟

تستغرق قراءة الخطوات بضع دقائق! لذلك اقرأ كل خطوة وحاول فهم كيفية عمل جميع العناصر معًا عند استخدام هذه الأداة القائمة على البحث.

الدرجات

تجد في الأعلى درجات رحلة العملاء والتي تشمل: قبل وأثناء وبعد تفاعلهم مع الخدمة التي تقدمها.

المراحل

عليك بعد ذلك تحديد المراحل الأساسية التي يمر بها العميل خلال كل درجة ضمن رحلته. ويجب أن يحتوي هذا الجزء على مراحل أساسية بمستوى عالٍ وتفاصيل محدودة، ليُكشف عن باقي التفاصيل لاحقًا.
مثال: قبل التفاعل: الوصول إلى السوبر ماركت والدخول إليه. 

الخطوات

يمكننا خلال هذه المرحلة من تخطيط رحلة العميل إضافة المزيد من التفاصيل بجانب المراحل الأساسية التي تساعد على فهم الخطوات التي يتخذها العميل أثناء رحلته.

مثال: قبل التفاعل: البحث عن مكان للاصطفاف وإيجاد لافتات للمصاعد ومعرفة رقم الطابق الذي يوجد فيه السوبر ماركت والوصول إلى الطابق المطلوب والدخول إلى السوبر ماركت. 

نقاط التواصل مع العملاء

يمكننا الآن التطرق إلى تفاصيل أخرى من خلال فهم الأمور التي تدفع العميل إلى اتخاذ قرارًا والتعرّف على العناصر أو نقاط التواصل للتفاعل بين الشركة والعميل. تعتبر نقاط التواصل مع العملاء واجهات مادية وغير مادية يتفاعل من خلالها العميل مع مؤسستك، ويشمل التفاعل ببساطة إيجاد لافتة المصعد للذهاب إلى موقف السيارات والعودة إليه والوصول إلى السوبر ماركت والتفاعل مع الآخرين.

مثال: أثناء التفاعل: إيجاد عربات التسوق والبحث عن اسم الأقسام وتصفح المنتجات والبحث عن أسعارها.

مستوى الخبرة

هنا نضع خطة التركيز على عاطفة العميل، بحيث أن أَسر عواطفه للحفاظ عليها في حال كانت إيجابية وإصلاحها إذا كانت سلبية من أهم ما يمكن القيام به.

التحديات

بعد تحديد الخطوات ونقاط التواصل مع العملاء ومستوى الخبرة، نوّضح التفاصيل المتعلقة بالتحديات التي تواجه العميل أثناء رحلته ونستعرض معلومات تتعلق بمكان ظهور التحديات والأفراد الذين يتفاعلون معها وما يحاولون إنجازه خلال هذه الخطوة. الجدير بالذكر أن هذه التحديات تساعدنا لاحقًا في إعادة تصميم التجارب الجديدة التي تجعل تجربة العميل أفضل. 

الفرص/الأفكار الممكنة

هذه هي الجوانب التي تسلّط الضوء على الحاجة إلى التحسين والابتكار في رحلة العميل. قد تكون بعض هذه الفرص طفيفة وتبدو بسيطة لكنها تؤثر على تجربة العميل الكلية؛ ومن الممكن أن تكون هذه الفرص منهجية أو تشغيلية أو مرئية أو حتى مادية.

كان هذا دليلنا المختصر حول تخطيط رحلة العميل. وأخيرًا، يعتمد نجاح الخدمة التي تقدمها بنسبة كبيرة على نجاح رحلة عميلك، فيجب أن يحدد مخطط الرحلة مدى فعاليته في مساعدة مؤسستك على تحديد نقاط الضعف وفرص التحسين فرص التحسين لاتباعه خطوات مسار العميل من البداية إلى النهاية.

علاوة على ذلك، تُقدّم الخدمة عندما يتحد أصحاب المصلحة والأقسام معًا حيث يساهم مخطط رحلة العميل التصويري المفصّل في توحيد أصحاب المصلحة لرؤية الصورة الأهم للعميل. هذه الوحدة التي تفتقرها العديد من المنظمات على الرغم من أهميتها.

Design Studio

نحن نحاول باستمرار إحداث تأثير إيجابي ، وإحداث فرق إيجابي.
مختبرات الابتكار
ابتكار المنتجات
تصميم تجربة المستخدم
تصميم الخدمات
البحوث، الأفكار والرؤى
تقييم تجربة المستخدم (UX)
استوديو هيود الإبداعي